2018 Awards (For Books Published in 2017)

JWH Award:

Fiction: Susan Bernhard, Winter Loon

Nonfiction: Simon Winchester, The Perfectionists

Young Readers: Tara Lynn Masih, My Real Name is Hanna

susan bernhard.JPG
Simon Winchester.JPG
tara lynn mash.JPG


2017 Awards (For Books Published in 2016)

JWH Award: Daniel Tobin, From Nothing ( Four Way )

Young ReadersGrace Lin, When the Sea Turned to Silver ( Little Brown Books for Young Readers )

2016 Awards ( For Books Published in 2015)

JWH Award: Alice Hoffman, The Marriage of Opposites ( Simon & Schuster )

Young Readers: M.T.Anderson, Symphony for the City of the Dead (Candlewick Press)

2015 Awards (For Books Published in 2014)

JWH Award: Carla Kaplan, Miss Anne in Harlem: the White Women in Black Renaissance (Harper Perennial)

2013 Awards (For Books Published in 2012)   
JWH Award: B.A.Shapiro, The Art Forger (Algonquin)

Young Readers: Terry Farish, The Good Braider (Marshall Cavendish)

For Lifetime Achievement: Louis Gluck and Lois Lowry

2012 Awards ( For Books Published in 2011)

JWH Award: Edith Pearlman, Binocular Vision (Lookout/U.N. Carolina)

Young Readers: Kimberly Marcus, Exposed (Random House)

For Lifetime Achievement: in Historical Writing to David McCullough

2011 Awards (For Books Published in 2010)

JWH Award: Lewis Hyde, Common as Air (Farrar, Strauss Giroux

Young Readers: Francisco X. Stork, The Last Summer of the Death Warriors (Arthur A. Levine)

Special Award for Lifetime Achievement: Robert Coles

2010 Awards (For Books Published in 2009)

JWH Award: Nancy Rappaport, In Her Wake (Basic Books)

Young Readers: Jaqueline Davies, Lost (Marshall Cavendish)

2009 Awards (For Books Published in 2008)

JWH Award: Dexter Filkins, The Forever War (Knopf)

Young Readers: Padma Venkatraman, Climbing the Stairs (G.P. Putnam)

2008 Awards (For Books Published in 2007)

JWH Award: Sylvia Sellers-Garcia, When the Ground Turns in Its Sleep (Riverhead)

Young Readers: Brian Selznick, The Invention of Hugo Cabret (Scholastic) 

Recognition for Sustained Achievement: Jerome Kagan, What Is Emotion? History, Measures, and Meanings (Yale University Press)

2007 Awards (For Books Published in 2006)

JWH Award: James Carroll, House of War: The Pentagon & the Disastrous Rise of American Power   (Houghton Mifflin)

Young Readers: M.T.Anderson, Octavian Nothing: Volume I, The Pox  Party (Candlewick)

Arthur Walworth Special Award: Robert D. Richardson , William James: In the Maelstrom of American Modernism (Houghton Mifflin)

2006 Awards (For Books Published in 2005)

JWH Award: Charles C. Mann, 1491: New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus (Alfred A. Knopf)

Young Readers: Liza Ketchum, Where the Great Hawk Flies (Clarion Books)

Special Award: Alan Lightman, The Discoveries: Great Breakthroughs in 20th Century Science and A Sense of the Mysterious: Science and the Human Spirit (both Pantheon Books)

2005 Awards (For Books Published in 2004)

JWH Award: Gordon S. Wood, The Americanization of Benjamin Franklin (Penguin Press)

Young Readers: Meg Rosoff, How I Live Now (Random House)

Special Award: Jeffrey S. Cramer (Editor) Walden—A Fully Annotated Edition (Yale U. Press)W. Barksdale Maynard, Walden Pond, a History (Oxford U. Press)

2004 Awards (For Books Published in 2003)

JWH Award: Brenda Wineapple, Hawthorne: A Life (Alfred A. Knopf)

Young Readers: Pat Lowery Collins, The Fattening Hut (Houghton Mifflin)

Special Award: Karl Haglund, Inventing the Charles River (MIT Press); Nancy S. Seasholes, Gaining Ground (MIT Press)

2003 Awards (For Books Published in 2002)

JWH Award: Moying Li-Marcus, Beacon Hill (Northeastern U. Press)

Young Readers: Gordon Morrison, The Pond (Houghton Mifflin)

Special Award: Edward O. Wilson, Pheidole in the New World (Harvard U. Press)

2002 Awards (For Books Published in 2001)

JWH Award: Nicholas Tawa, From Psalm to Symphony (Northeastern U. Press)

Young Readers: Ellen Wittlinger, Razzle (Simon & Schuster)

2001 Awards (For Books Published in 2000)

BAC Award: Thomas H. O’Connor, Boston A to Z (Harvard U. Press)

Young Readers: Carole G. Vogel, Nature’s Fury (Scholastic)

Special Award: Glenn Stout & Richard Johnson: The Red Sox Century (Houghton Mifflin)

2000 Awards (For Books Published in 1999)

BAC Award: Michael Patrick MacDonald, All Souls (Beacon Press)

Young Readers: Deborah Savage, Summer Hawk (Houghton Mifflin)

1999 Awards (For Books Published in 1998)

BAC Award: Linda H. Davis,Badge of Courage (Houghton Mifflin)

1998 Awards (For Books Published in 1997)

BAC Award: Anita Diamant, The Red Tent (Houghton Mifflin)

1997 Awards (For Books Published in 1996)

BAC Award: Igor Lukas, Czechoslovakia between Stalin and Hitler (Oxford U. Press)